Jacoby Ethridge

Contests, elections, rousing speeches highlight District 27 Springs conference

By Kathryn Sosbe/Oxon Hill Toastmasters

Samantha Lynch-Johnson
Samantha Lynch-Johnson, winner, 2017 District 27 Evaluation Contest
Jacoby Ethridge
Jacoby Ethridge, winner 2017 District 27 International Speech Contest

Jacoby Ethridge won first in the International Speech Contest, and Samantha Lynch-Johnson won first place in the Evaluation Contest during the 2017 District 27 Springs Conference at the Holiday Inn Airport in Crystal City, Virginia.

Ethridge is now headed to Vancouver, British Columbia, where he will compete in the semi-finals in a quest to make it to the final round of the International Speech Contest, where the World Champion of Public Speaking® is chosen. In the end, 10 contestants from all over the world deliver 5- to 7-minute speeches that are evaluated by a panel of experienced Toastmasters.

Congratulations to Ethridge and Lynch-Johnson for their District 27 achievements. Complete results are:

Evaluation Contest:

  • 1st Place:  Samantha Lynch-Johnson
  • 2nd Place:  Daniel Doughtery
  • 3rd Place:  J Carlos Velazquez

Missed the conference? Check out these links:
Conference agenda
Meet our keynote speakers

Live photo gallery
Support our advertisers

International Speech Contest:

  • 1st Place:  Jacoby Ethridge
  • 2nd Place:  Darryn Martin
  • 3rd Place:  Cynthia Greene

District leadership made a change through the annual elections of directors. Your new slate of officers include:

  • District Director – Christine Hobbs
  • Program Quality Director – Brenda Lawrence
  • Club Growth Director – Robin Hylton
  • Division A Director – Nathan Shepherd
  • Division B Director – Ashton Jacobe
  • Division C Director – Ellen Tappin
  • Division D Director – Vann Di Galloway
  • Division E Director – Mary Pearson
  • Division F Director – Birgit Schwenzer

A list of winners continue with the District 27 Hall of Fame Educational Awards. Congratulations to all. If you did not receive your Golden Toaster ribbon for officers trained in 2016 email Christine Hobbs.

Plans are already underway for the Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 conference. As always volunteers and ideas are needed. Email conferencechair@d27tm.org to get in on the excitement and creativity.

Please follow and like us: