Alonzo White, Christine Hobbs, Brenda Lawrence

Support, success celebrated at 2017 Hail & Farewell

Alonzo White, DTM, now has the best position in Toastmasters International—Immediate Past District Director. But first, he had to host the District 27 Hail & Farewell on July 14 at the Arlington Mill Community Center in Arlington, Virginia

The annual Hail & Farewell is to thank the previous year’s district leaders for their leadership and hard work, and to install the new leadership team. It takes a large team to successfully lead a district. Awards were presented to Pathways guides, division directors, area directors, special event chairs, program chairs, the volunteer district staff and the top three district leaders.

Alonzo White, Chistine Hobbs, Brenda Lawrence
Alonzo White, Christine Hobbs and Brenda Lawrence comprised the 2016-2017 “Trio” of district director, program quality director and club growth director, respectively. A Hail and Farewell, a traditional passing of the baton, included awards for a variety of people who helped the leadership through a successful year. (District 27 file photo)

White, the 2016-2017 district director, and 2017-2018 District Director Christine Hobbs spoke about failure and success during their respective addresses. Both had sought to serve at the highest level of the district previously and came up short. But rather than give up, they continued to improve and serve with passion and dedication.

White credits former district governor Ralph Jones, DTM, with his eventual success. Hobbs credits another former district governor, Paul White, DTM, for helping to keep her focused.

Focus by others during the past year led to some special awards being presented at the event. Outgoing Area 64 Director Dale Sowell, Area 32 Director Ellen Tappin and Area 15 Director Stephanie Dantzler were recognized as 2016-2017 Area Directors of the Year. Division E Director Sandy Decker and Division B Director Vickie Writt were recognized as 2016-2017 Division Directors of the Year. Also receiving special awards were outgoing Administration Manager Jenny Genser, DTM, and District Advisor Ralph Jones, DTM, who were recognized as District Toastmasters of the Year.

Jones installed the 2017-2018 district officers. In addition to Hobbs, they are:

  • Program Quality Director Brenda Lawrence, DTM
  • Club Growth Director Robin Hylton
  • Division A Director Nathan Shepherd
  • Division C Director Ellen Tappin
  • Division E Director Mary Pearson
  • Division F Director Birgit Schwenzer

Not present were:

  • Division B Director Ashton Jacobe
  • Division D Director Vann Di Galloway
  • Public Relations Manager Jay D. Krasnow

With the new officers installed, let the 2017-2018 Toastmasters year begin. Your support is appreciated.

See a complete list of awards.

Tom Pfeifer (ACS) is the District 27 Administration Manager; Vice President of Education for APS Advanced Toastmasters, which meets at 6:45 p.m. the second Tuesday of the month in Room 77 of Annandale High School, 4700 Medford Drive, Annandale, Virginia; Vice President of Membership for Burgay Advanced Toastmasters, which meets at 7 p.m. the second Monday of the month in Room 320 of Annandale High School; and a member of GUTS Toastmasters, which meets at 8 a.m. Saturdays at the United Baptist Church of Annandale, 7100 Columbia Pike, Annandale, Virginia.

Please follow and like us: